top of page

What Is The Best Way To Define The Ocean?

After you attempt to answer this question, I will then, and ONLY then, give a dictionary definition.


Please understand that we are all more intelligent than books,


aren't we?

OR

at least we should be?


Another question we shall save for later.


I am very curious what you will come up with. As I compose this blog, I am also wondering how a book will define "ocean."


Let's just say, it's a "Large body of water?"


But is that enough to define these behemoth bodies of water?


What shall, or should we, consider "large?"


Decades ago, when I was playing around at the great lakes, during my happy childhood, I noticed I couldn't even see Canada on the other side when I was looking across the lake.


To me, this was a HUGE body of water!


But compare any great lake to any ocean.


Absolutely a massive difference,

right?


Now, is there anything else we should take into consideration at this point?


I believe our 1st step is to agree what we ALL consider "large."


Or do you consider this frivolous?


What about the characteristics it has?


Now we really MUST ALL agree on certain points, before we look at the correct definition below.


Ready?


Look at these pictures for something, or ANYTHING, we may have overlooked in our analyses, before you even try looking at the definitive answer!



I certainly am unable to see the other side of this!!

A beautiful sunset over a massive and gorgeous ocean

Now you can try to look to the other side, but lots of luck to you!

 


Look at what Dictionary.com stated:


noun

1 - the vast body of salt water that covers almost three fourths of the earth's surface. 2 - any of the geographical divisions of this body, commonly given as the Atlantic, Pacific, Indian, Arctic, and Antarctic oceans. 3 - a vast expanse or quantity


 

What do you think so far?


Now, just for shit & giggles, I will reveal Merriam-Webster's conclusion.


Definition of ocean

1 a: the whole body of salt water that covers nearly three fourths of the surface of the earth.


The ocean covers most of our planet, regulates our weather and climate, absorbs vast amounts of carbon dioxide, provides most of our oxygen, and feeds much of the human population.— National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration


b: any of the large bodies of water into which the great ocean is divided

the oceans of the world

2: a very large or unlimited quantity or expanse.


 

I really see that the main issue is its size.


Allow me to share my initial thoughts when I came up with this post. I was wondering, "what if?".......we drained the entire ocean and put a different type of water, like tap water, or any other type of water, in its place?


Would we still consider it an ocean?


But since this will NEVER happen, it is really a void question. It's just another one of my crazy thoughts I can come up with. It is fun to imagine, though.



To close, I wilI share this very paradoxical fact I found today, below.


After perusing these detailed delineations above, it is extremely humorous while also very satirical that 2 synonyms for ocean were: pond & puddle!!


Can you comprehend that the 1st 2 are referring to "ocean?"

Now, isn't that the most unexpected relation I ever found?


YES!!!

I can declare, with the utmost certainty, that this is by far the most unexpected, contradictory relationship, that I have ever found!


If you re able to come across other logical questions, I can use for this category, please send them MY way!!


Love you BOTH,


Christopher "CJ" Jeremiah

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page